2022 Assistant Principal of the Year-

Amy Boone

Amy Boone– District 7

Assistant Principal of the Year

A graduate of Butler University where she earned a Bachelor of Science in Secondary Education – Mathematics in 2003 and a Master of Science in Administration in 2008, Amy Boone began teaching math at Westfield High School in 2003. Moving to Southport High School, she became dean of girls and assistant principal from 2009 to 2011. In 2011, her title became assistant principal and in 2022 associate principal. Perhaps Amy’s proudest achievement is her creation of the Latino Support Focus Group in 2021, which brings together multiple school resources and personnel to build relationships with a growing Latino student population and their families. Amy’s superintendent tapped her “to serve on the district equity team . . . to eliminate inequities within the educational system” and has also recruited her to serve on the district team focused on teacher evaluation practices. One of Southport’s Spanish teachers praises her saying, “For colleagues she is supportive . . . . For teachers she is insightful . . . . For students she is a servant leader.”


2022 Elementary School Principal of the Year-

Aretha Britton

Aretha Britton– District 7

Elementary Principal of the Year

With a Bachelor of Science degree from Indiana State University, Aretha Britton began her teaching career in 1997 at Benjamin Franklin Elementary School (Vigo County Schools) where she taught fifth, third, and a split second/third grade as well as serving as a reading recovery teacher and a writing coach through 2002, taking her Master of Science degree in Elementary Education/Early Childhood in 2001. From 2002 to 2005, she served as Title I reading teacher and reading coach at Rhoades Elementary School (MSD of Wayne Township – Marion County). After earning both administrative licensure and educational leadership licensure at Indiana State in 2004, she became assistant principal at Rhoades Elementary until 2007 and then at North Wayne Elementary (Wayne Township) from 2007 to 2009. Aretha served as principal of North Wayne from 2009 to 2018 and is currently principal of Rhoades Elementary. Proud of her focus on mental well-being during the pandemic, she points to mental health wellness coaching for students and a staff relaxation station which included ten to twenty minute massages for staff.

2022 Middle School Principal of the Year-

Daniel Mendez

Daniel Mendez– District 9

Middle School Principal of the Year

Daniel Mendez graduated from Indiana University – Purdue University of Indianapolis in 2001 with a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education. He worked as a sixth grade teacher of English and social studies at Perry Meridian Middle School (Perry Township Schools – Marion County) from 2001 to 2004 and at Perry Meridian Sixth Grade Academy from 2004 to 2006. During those years, Daniel earned his Master of Education degree from Indiana Wesleyan University, becoming the assistant principal at Homecroft and Southport Elementary Schools (Perry Township) during the 2006/2007 school year, becoming principal of Southport Elementary from 2007 to 2017. He took his Education Specialist degree in Educational Leadership in 2012 and his Ph.D. in Educational Leadership in 2015, both from Indiana State University. From 2017 to 2019, Daniel was Director of Secondary Education for the MSD of Decatur Township. Then in 2019, he became principal of Seymour Middle School. At Seymour he has implemented a weekly structured professional development model based on a strategy cycle driven by data as well as an instructional coaching model wherein all teachers go through regular coaching known as coaching residency,

2022 High School Principal of the Year-

Ryan Langferman

Ryan Langferman– District 10

High School Principal of the Year

In 2003, Ryan Langferman graduated from Northern Kentucky University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biological Sciences with a minor in education. He began his teaching career in 2003 at Milan High School, teaching biological science. In 2009, he earned his Master of Education and administrative licensure through Ball State University. After ten years in the classroom, he became principal at Milan in 2013. In 2019, he completed work on his Educational Specialist degree which resulted in superintendent licensure through Indiana State University. Among numerous achievements in which he takes pride, Ryan includes working to increase academic rigor, partnering with Ivy Tech for dual credit courses, and the implementation of Juvenile Justice Strategies, which sees suspended students assigned to the Ripley County Juvenile Probation office for a structured day of school lessons and community service. His superintendent observes that Ryan, a lifelong resident of Milan, knows the community and truly desires the best for each member of it.

For more information about the selection process or to nominate someone for this prestigious award, please click here.

Start typing and press Enter to search